99 Comments
Jan 15, 2023·edited Jan 15, 2023

Oh, i so love dolphins! Thank you, Steve.

I moved to Arizona six years ago from Santa Barbara, CA (where dolphin-viewing abounds!), with my beloved dear wife Laura-- who just passed away peacefully this past week of pneumonia complications at the ICU. What a gorgeous, beautiful soul-- she now flies freely with the angels and swims and frolics with the dolphin spirits. I already miss her so terribly.

At AllTrails, i've uploaded over a hundred nature photos (out of thousands more i could upload):

https://www.alltrails.com/members/timothy-conway/photos

CLICK ON the PHOTO for each trail hike, NOT the hyperlinked trail-name text, to see the HQ photos i've uploaded of various hikes around Arizona.

P.S.-- Steve, my wife Laura, so passionate about "engaged spirituality" and social justice, was your biggest fan-- almost religiously watching you on MSNBC and twice viewing the entirety of that Frontline interview.

Expand full comment

Wow. That is amazing. I had the chance to see a sperm whale up close, eye to eye, from the "safety" of a 30' boat. She was accompanied by her young. It was a humbling experience. Sorry, no pics of that. Not an easy image to follow; but here's some visitors that came by from the lake: https://photos.app.goo.gl/pHAqpyHLYiK2EeR98.

Expand full comment

That looks like a Pacific white-sided dolphin! One of my favorites! They don't come into the Salish Sea as much, so I don't see them without traveling, but I'm so delighted when I do.

Expand full comment

Thank you for loving the natural world, Steve, and being an influence to protect her and her inhabitants. There is nothing more important. Here is a favorite in my collection from Monterey Bay. https://originals.laurenforcella.com/product/monterey-beauty-original-painting/

Expand full comment

I will be going around Point Conception in a few days and usually there are at least 2-3 pods numbering 100+ that come to frolic and entertain with their acrobatics. ❤️❤️❤️😢

Expand full comment

Talk about magnificent pics!!

Expand full comment

The most beautiful world in the world.

Expand full comment

I live in BC ❤️

Expand full comment

Not much of a wildlife photo (there is a very small brown spot right in the middle on the beach - that's a grizzly bear!) but I didn't have the heart to crop out the rest of the scene.

At the mouth of the Brim River, BC.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/PURrJNmB32eA8jPS6

Expand full comment

Incredible!

Expand full comment

Tim, I’m so sorry for your loss. And TC, I had to place my husband in memory care 5 months before he died in 2020. It is so painful to make such a decision but it was the right thing to do and I am at peace now. Time is indeed a great healer. My best to you and your family.

Expand full comment

After my mother-in-law died, my (ex, now deceased) husband and I went out in his motorboat in the marshes where we used to live. We were astounded to see a dolphin following us, the entire way we were going, out to sea! No dolphin had ever come into water as shallow as ours. I remember Gerry saying, "Hi, Mom!"

Expand full comment

thank you Steve for the magestic beauty of these photos. They remind me of you beautiful writing that you give us. Thank you for your dedication to that proposition, that revolution in thought. Your writing is up there with Lincoln’s genius.

Expand full comment

This little family crossed our tideflats recently. (Washington State)

https://photos.app.goo.gl/yDW6NEwagxi1abXv9

Expand full comment

you gather the diversity of talent and intellect amongst your readers therefore there will be more of us - all good! Wonderful photos.

Expand full comment

Since I have not yet learned how to post photos here , I too am posting one of wildlife as my profile photo. The state bird of Louisiana is the brown pelican. These members of that distinguished group were sunning themselves the afternoon of January 13 in Des Allemands, LA.

Expand full comment

I’m on a farm with constant wildlife walking by my house--but I only photograph my dogs!

Expand full comment

These pics you shared are magnificent. Thanks for sharing the beauty of nature. In contrast, human nature can be so bastardized. And for what?

Expand full comment

I visited the Florida Everglades last Friday and saw an amazing number of alligators and some gorgeous birds, such a Great Blue Herons.

Expand full comment

Wow! Amazing shots!

Expand full comment

Wow! Even more impressive than the horses.

Expand full comment
Jan 15, 2023·edited Jan 15, 2023

https://photos.app.goo.gl/vHnvtphTpj3oXG9LA

Big Chinook I caught in Desolation Sound, BC.

Expand full comment

Best I could do was to change my profile pic to one I caught in AK. Hoping to catch this whale again in HA in February.

Expand full comment

Wow! What a wonderful art. We lived in Florida when I was young, every weekend morning my mother took my brother and I swimming. My mother would wear her fashionable cat-eye sunglasses, while we wore googles - she would tell my brother to hold onto her ankle and tell me to hold onto Joey's ankle, and she would take undersea . . .

She would tell us on the way back home "it's a great day any day you're swimming with the dolphins". They are the most beautiful, serene creatures. They have a way of bringing silence into your soul - it's a wonderful sound.

Thank you for sharing your Art!!

Expand full comment

Thank you very, very much for the photos of the dolphin!!!!!!! What a wonderful sight!!!!!! And it was wonderful to hear about the historic synagogue!!!!

And thank you for your articles!!!!!!

Bless you!!!! Have a good day!!!!!

Sincerely,

Linda Brilhart

Expand full comment

Are these white sided Pacific dolphins?

Expand full comment

So beautiful! I love dolphins. We were sailing in the British Virgin Islands several years ago and all of a sudden several dolphins were swimming along side us. I was so awe struck in the moment I didn’t even think to get my camera until it was too late. So instead I have a photo I took of Cooper’s Hawk visiting our property last fall. He is a handsome fellow

https://drive.google.com/file/d/12R6HIND5gV0NL_W_JKXkG9VhIGx_DaHL/view?usp=drivesdk

Expand full comment

A master photographer. Poetry in motion. Thank you for the smiles.

Expand full comment

https://share.icloud.com/photos/0206nuhDaovKJvjxzpS9-FYtQ I have a wonderful friend and he is a big black bear. He lives in our Ponderosa pine during September He rests in the tree and comes down for our orchard fruit at night. He is happy and comfortable. https://share.icloud.com/photos/0dbzT-QrFJQQvGeSbZc42h5Gg

Expand full comment

Oh I knew how to attach a photo I would!

Expand full comment
founding

What a spectacular wonder, full of life and joy!

Expand full comment

Fantastic!

Humans are their own worst enemies, and our tricks are graceless....

Expand full comment

WHOA!

Expand full comment

Steve! Incredible, do you work for National Geographic?

Expand full comment

LOVE dolphins! Also love our resident Orcas here on Puget Sound, WA! I have been on a ferry more than once when they've been present and the ferries slow down to a quiet crawl to allow the Orcas (and even humpbacks every now and then) the right of way!

Expand full comment

This is where I live! These are Rossi's dolphins and they are do much fun.

Expand full comment

The second photo is my favorite!

Expand full comment

I remember these amazing pics! Looks like a legendary trip.

Expand full comment

WOW, I love dolphins and even their cousins the Killer whales. Awesome photos.

Expand full comment

I am not finding a way to load my photos into the comments. Can anyone post some help? I’m using an iPad. Thanks!

Expand full comment

Thank you.

Expand full comment

How do I send a wildlife photo?

Expand full comment