261 Comments
Oct 1, 2022·edited Oct 2, 2022

The Atlantic, Seth Abramson, Robert Reich, Lawrence Tribe, John Meacham, Heather Cox Richardson, Joyce Vance, Harry Litwin, Charles Rosenberg, NPR, Rachel Maddow. And I will add Ari Melber, and Steve Schmidt of course, his is the most articulate venom, and I love him for every word of it!

Expand full comment

Robert Hubble writes a great daily newsletter but of course he’s not on television. I turn to Lawrence O’Donnell every night For a principled and righteous take on what we call the news. Nicole Wallace is so honest it takes my breath away

Expand full comment

Deadline Whitehouse, You, Rachel Maddow, joy Reid, Charlie Sykes, Ari Melber

Expand full comment

Steve Schmidt is one. So is the Guardian.

Expand full comment
Oct 1, 2022·edited Oct 1, 2022

Immediately coming to mind, Rachel (so miss her being available to us nightly), Heather Cox Richardson (I am learning SO much reading her letters and tuning in to her FaceBook discussions), Joyce Vance (brilliant use of her chickens to engage the audience), Michael Beschloss (adore his knowledge and demeanor), Ambassador McFaul (could listen to him all day long), Steve of course (I completely agree with his take on things, but I do believe his tone alienates many), and so many more. Surely Nicole Wallace. I also very much enjoy Lawrence and Joy, especially when they are guests commentators on someone else’s show – they are much better unscripted, in my opinion.

Expand full comment

All the shows on MSNBC

Expand full comment

Nicole Wallace for sure.

Expand full comment

The ATLANTIC. The online Colorado Sun. Carol Leonnig. The Bulwark.

Steve Schmidt and Stuart Stephens.

In general Lincoln Project targeting.

I believe Nicolle Wallace and Rachel Maddow to be honest.

I read headlines from NYT email but I watch BBC and DW and France24 for news. Not NYT or WaPo.

Certainly not WSJ or TV news or social media.

Expand full comment

Yes, I want to add the historians Jon Meacham, Michael Bechloss and Doris Kearns Goodwin

Expand full comment

So far, the above are all good with me. In addition, I listen to Glenn Kirshner, Zev Shalev on Narativ and Eric Garland. Jim Stewartson I find credible, although tough to read often due to style. Heather Cox Richardson daily gives such context to everything.

Expand full comment
founding

Commentators typically seen on MSNB that perk up my ears are Andrew Weissman ( his book Where Law Ends is fascinating), Anna Applebaum (her book Twilight of Democracy is eye opening), Ben Rhodes (9 part podcast Missing America is excellent), Harry Litman, Joyce Vance, Barb Mcquaid, Clint Watts, Dahlia Lithwick (podcast Amicus is beyond insightful on courts). I can't get enough of Sheldon Whitehouse exposing corruption of courts by Fed Society and Judicial Watch. Claire McCaskill is a gift! Other pro journalists i believe are factbased and trustworthy are Mike Schmidt, Carol Leonnig, Christiane Amanpour. Throughly enjoy The Circus. Extremely happy MSNBC hired Alex Wagner to fill Rachel's seat. And like many others Rachel and Nicole and Lawrence are must see tv for me.

Expand full comment

Beau of the Fifth Column

Expand full comment
Oct 1, 2022·edited Oct 1, 2022

Haven't seen VOX.com mentioned in the comments-- their indepth coverage of many topics is FIRST-RATE, especially Ian Millhiser's articles on SCOTUS and other legal matters, and Kenny Torrella's ongoing reporting of Big Meat/Dairy's unconscionable role in the climate catastrophe and nightmare confinement & slaughter of a trillion or more animals each year (actual SENTIENT BEINGS, in contrast to the insentient fetuses so fetishized by the GOP).

Additionally, i read or view many of the progressive sources and voices listed here in the comments (from MSNBC to Common Dreams, Alternet and FAIR), and trustworthy "centrist" outlets like TheAtlantic.com, and the "saner" NY Times columnists (Paul Krugman, Thomas Edsall, et al.)

And of course i read the masterfully eloquent Steve Schmidt. Often out-loud to my wife's appreciative heart-mind. Sometime i can't continue due to weeping over the poignancy of it all, such as Steve's column on the Gettysburg Address and other examples of the American "scriptural canon."

Expand full comment

Steve Schmidt, The Atlantic, Mother Jones, David Corn

Expand full comment

democracy now!, heather cox richardson, popular information, tomdispatch, Thom Hartman, intercept, vice, fair, DW, France24, RT, popular resistance, scheerpost, the daily show, CNBC shepard smith, especially the last one, ALL with a grain of salt!

Expand full comment

PBS News Hour

Expand full comment

Heather Cox Richardson, the Original Inspiration to any of us trying to deal with things seriously here on Substack, and the measuring stick of any success at that. Nicolle Wallace for her intellectual integrity (she's paid a price to get where she is). Rachel, and also Alex Wagner who it's good to see back on the air regularly and she does a good job of bringing intelligence to fill that chair. Lawrence O'Donnell, who brings a lifetime of experience to explaining things. Chris Hayes (if you haven't read his book "Twilight of the Elites" you have no real understanding of why things are the mess they are). My good friend Lucian Truscott IV. The Bulwark for good understanding of the real conservatives, who need to be paid attention to. Tom Nichols and the Atlantic in general. TomDispatch for bringing a POV you don't get elsewhere. Joyce Vance and Robert Hubbell for clear analysis (and the fact that Robert is a fan of That's Another Fine Mess :-) ). Commentators: Michael McFaul, Andrew Weissberg, Glen Kirchner, Jill Wine Banks, Michael Beschloss, Jon Meacham, Doris Kearns Goodwin (a book of hers that few mention and many should read is "No Ordinary Time" about how FDR prepared us for war and then led us through it). Steve Schmidt for his passionate defense of "being American." Substacks: Adam Tooze for economic education. Sam and Lawrence Freedman at "Content is Freed" for Ukraine analysis and explaining British politics so well that I now understand how/why I just lost $1,000 on my book deal with my English publisher. Ruth Ben-Ghiat for studies on authoritarianism. And finally Roy Blount Jr just because.

Expand full comment

I watch BBC daily for international news. In the US I like Dan Rather, Historian Jon Meacham for a perspective, MSNBC, Politico, Guardian, I love reading Steve Schmidt for his creative writing based on truths and love listening to Dr Robert Reich for factual analysis and detailed based opinions. Add to this whatever real-time books I can get my hands on . That pretty much fills up my retired-status day and night! Truth seeking and knowledge is really a full-time job isn’t it? Oh well!

Expand full comment

You, Ari Melber, Heather Cox Richardson, Hubbell, Rachel Maddow, Lawrence O'Donnell, Jennifer Rubin, Eugene Robinson, Rick Lewis, and David Ignatius

Expand full comment

Al Jazeera and now subscriber based choices. Grateful for cable networks and pod casts for introduction to informed based authors and subject matter experts of current relevance.

Expand full comment

One has to be careful with news and opinion and know the difference and the foundations of each.

Expand full comment

Heather Cox Richardson’s Letters to an American and Joyce Vance are my daily must reads. I’m glad I’ve subscribed to all 3 on Substack. I highly recommend the two women.

Expand full comment

The Washington Post mostly, Axios, The Atlantic, Jennifer Rubin, Amish Alcindor, Jonathan Swan, Rachel Maddow, Stephanie Ruhle, Nicole Wallace, The Bulwark, Phillip Rucker, Carol Lennig, Steve Schmidt, The Lincoln Project, Kimberly Atkins-Storr, Katie Benner, Eugene Robinson, most programming on MSNBC and it’s parent..NBC News, Robert Costa, Heather Cox Richardson..Legal AF, Joyce Vance

Expand full comment

Judd Legum at Popular Information (https://popular.info/)

Expand full comment

Steve Schmidt “The Warning “trusted patriot, Heather Cox Richardson,

Deadline Washington w/Nicole Wallace,

Laurence O’Donnell, Rachel Maddow,

Ari Melber, Laurence Tribe,John Meacham

Joyce Vance,Doris Kearns Goodwin, PBS,

Ambassador McFaul, Lincoln Project,BBC,

Jennifer Rubin,Fareed Zakaria,WaPo,NYT

Expand full comment

I listen to and read original news sources in Spanish, German and English, latter both American and British sources. German sources both audio and written are Die Zeit, Spiegel, FAZ. Spanish sources are WaPo, NYT, BBC, DW, El PAÍS, NPR has a couple of phenomenal Spanish language podcasts: El Hilo, Radio Ambulante. I can’t even begin to list the excellent podcasts in English.

My point is: information should be first hand, and preferably from different language sources when possible. Its amazing to hear the same topic discussed by Germans, Latinoamericans, British and American perspectives, like for example the upcoming elections in Brazil or the war in Ukraine.

I view my cable news consumption as “fast food”, pre digested so to speak. Maddow is absolutely essential, so are Nicolle, Charlie Sykes, David Rothkopf, you and others.

I have stopped watching CNN a LONG time ago.

Expand full comment

Racheal Maddow, Nicole Wallace, Ari Melber Lawrence O’Donnell, you, Jake Sherman, Charlie Sykes

Expand full comment

MSNBC and the old lineup of Rachel, Lawrence O'Donnell, Nicole Wallace, Chris Hayes and Joy Reid. And oh yes, Ali Velshi, who isn't glamorous but doesn't need to be because he's so knowledgeable, decent and courageous. Frequent MSNBC panelists Joyce Vance, Barbara McQuade and Jill Wine Banks, the Watergate Girl (Sisters-in-Law), Lawrence Tribe, Frank Figliuzzi, Neal Katyal . I really depend on historians like Heather Cox Richardson, Michael Beschloss, Jon Meecham for fact-based analysis and the historical perspective. I only subscribe to one print magazine--the Atlantic. Electronic subscriptions to newspapers, especially WAPO and the NYTimes (for old time's sake and many fine journalists--Maggie Haberman excepted.) And commentators like you, Steve, for your eloquence, humanity and depth of knowledge.

Expand full comment

Some on MSNBC. Nicole Wallace forthright, fearless but calm. Her interview with Denver Riggleman who worked some months w/ Jan. 6 Cmte. on data was excellent. Laurence O’Donell can present even the worst without increasing my anxiety. Lucian Truscott is therapeutic with his way of cutting to the chase and his personal stories are wonderful. Equally deserving of A+ are: Robert Hubbell, HCR, That’s Another Fine Mess, Joyce Vance, Josh Marshall’s Talking Points Memo. Valuable benefit of these newsletters are Comments by the readers. They expand perspective, fill in history and sometimes are even consoling.

Expand full comment

No TV. Livestream, radio, podcasts, substack, and twitter. I use a newsfeed, on my mobile, of a variety of news sources both national and international to get an overview and use the others to go deeper.

I agree with a lot of the specific sources mentioned above. One name I would add is Christiane Amanpour.

Thanks for the great suggestions. A lot of them I already follow but now I have more to check out.

Expand full comment
Oct 1, 2022·edited Oct 1, 2022

PBS News Hour and Washington Week. Political Wire (which is more of a summarizing document providing sources). Deadline Whitehouse. Recognizing there are some with certain opinions: The Atlantic, NYTimes (selected) , WaPo (selected) , Dan Rather, Lawrence Tribble, Rob Reiner. You. Not an exhaustive list but between online Smithsonian Seminars. Political historians, but they're not "classical media sources".

Expand full comment

The press does the public a great disservice by always saying there is equality between the 2 parties.

There is no equality and the press would be well advised to point out there is little comparison in philosophy between the Republicans and Democrats!

Expand full comment
Oct 1, 2022·edited Oct 1, 2022

I agree with most, also add many from The Young Turks and Meidas Touch.

Expand full comment

I scroll through everything and listen to everything. I watch MSNBC. I read HCR each day as well as you, Steve. It takes a lot of curating the news to try to figure out what is significant and what to trust. I've learned to love the grumpy Medhi Hassan who is disaffected with quite a lot of things, mirroring my own pessimism at times and making me feel like an optimist by comparison! He definitely isn't playing a game and says what he feels is true. There are some great people in the media. Podcasters like Ezra Klein, the conspirituality folks, Pod Save America--they are all doing us a favor by looking at the con men/women and calling them out. But it is a full-time job. Glad I am "retired".

Expand full comment

At this point, mostly the data oriented folks. Cook Political Report. 538. Etc. Some of the Substackers - Julia Ioffe, some of the writers for Common Sense, TK News to an extent, etc. - some podcasters that try to get to the truth of things (Sam Harris, etc.). Will likely take incoming for this but Bill Maher aims to live in a factual world and have opposing viewpoints and real discussions.

But not the big papers and newsrooms anymore. It’s not just access journalism and what they sit on so they can sell books, but the framing of stories in ways - and issues they focus on - that turn off middle America.

Expand full comment

For a news feed I use News Break app, AP, BBC, and lately DW (Deutsches Welle) (my brother's suggestion). For commentary I've watched MSNBC for a long time, especially Rachel and Lawrence O'Donnell, and others. PBS Newshour selected segments.

"Sit up and listen" commentators include you, Michael Beschloss, Michael McFaul, Jon Meachem, Joyce Vance, Barbara McQuade, Laurie Garrett (COVID & World Health). and Chuck Rosenberg.

I listen to #SistersInLaw every Saturday. Every day I read on Substack “The Warning” (thank you very much!!), Civil Discourse (Joyce Vance), and Heather Cox Richardson.

I am working my way through Chuck Rosenberg’s 49 Podcast episodes “The Oath”.

Currently I am reading Neil deGrasse Tyson’s new book, “Starry Messenger”.

Expand full comment

MSNBC programs that are on in the evening. I watch Ali Velshi on and Jonathan Capehart on weekends. Then I read your newsletter as well as Heather Cox Richardson, Dan Rather, as well as as a couple of legal experts. Oh, and Joyce Vance. I know that she is legal too.

Expand full comment
Oct 1, 2022·edited Oct 1, 2022

For me, it's Nicole Wallace (who introduced many of us to Steve. Steve. Rachel Maddow. Most of msnbc. WaPo. The Atlantic. Definitely the entire Bulwark bunch. Heather Cox Richardson.

Expand full comment

I love the Guardian and I still read it, but it did not get a high rating from Media Bias Fact Check due to failed fact checks, so read carefully. Check facts.

Expand full comment
Oct 1, 2022·edited Oct 1, 2022

I watch PBS Newshour most mornings (from the night before). At the very least I am sure to watch the Monday and Friday episodes because I like the political analysis from Amy Walter and Tamara Keith as well as Jonathan Capehart and David Brooks. I also read Heather Cox Richadson's Letter from an American every night, and pay attention to The Washington Post and The New York Times. I try to stay clear of stuff like FOX, CNN, MSNBC, The Guardian, Huffington Post and others, as I find they lean too far one way or another. Just give me the facts and I'll make up my own mind.

Expand full comment

I like most of the MSNBC lineup, except that the same news “breaks” every hour and it’s repetitious. I’m surprised no one has mentioned David Corn and Michael Isikoff, although I rarely see the latter on TV. I tend to like the British journalists, some of whom are not well known. And I follow Seth Abramson religiously.

Expand full comment

You, Nicole Wallace, most of MSNBC nightly programming, Heather Cox Richardson, Joyce Vance, Michael Bechloss, Doris Kearns Goodwin, Neil Catyal ( not sure of spelling ) lawyer, Liz Cheney, Andrew Weissman lawyer, Jamie Raskin

Expand full comment

Nichole Wallace all day long.

Expand full comment

Thom Hartmann is the only one I trust with most information. He will not be constricted by corporate control over his content the way even MSNBC is. However, I never miss Rachel and next favorite is Nicole. It is especially evident in the way left and right media discuss inflation. I believe professor Richard Wolff is the closest to my views on the economy. We now protect investors at all cost over people's lives. Rent and housing are too high. Our young are strapped, can't afford rent or mortgages, still deep in student debt and we want to hit them and the poor working class hardest to solve inflation saying it's necessary to stop inflation. BS.

Expand full comment

Thom Hartmann, Ralph Nader, Prof Reich's "Inequality Media", The New Republic, The Nation, In These Times, Washington Monthly, The Progressive Populist (out of Iowa & Texas), Katy Tur, L. O"Donnell, MSNBC various hosts, books: CAPTURED by Sen Whitehouse, AN UGLY TRUTH, about Facebook, THE NEW CLIMATE WAR , by Professor Michael Mann, Atmospheric Climatologist, Foreign Affairs, NYRB's, KPFA various shows.

Expand full comment

Lucian Truscott IV on Substack. His coverage of the war in Ukraine, in particular, has been exceptional, better than anything I've read anywhere else.

Expand full comment

NPR, PBS, Heather Cox Richardson, The New Yorker, Gail Collins (I also like The Conversation on Mondays with Bret Stephens in the NYT), Jamelle Bouie, The New Yorker Radio Hour, Steve Schmidt, James Fallows, Charles Blow, Brian Lehrer (WNYC), Rachel Maddow...I'll think of more after I post this...

Expand full comment

You, Fareed Zakaria, Charlie Sykes, Rachel Maddow, Anderson Cooper, Heather Cox Richardson, Nicole Wallace. There are probably others. But I'm wondering if you're not preaching to the choir, here.

Expand full comment

Best liberal network: MSNBC and stable of "contributors"

Best single talent Lawrence O'Donnell

Best looking female talent whose beauty is multipied by her civility and intellect: Nicole Wallace

Best egghead: Christopher Hayes

Worst joke teller: Ari Melber

Best TV network legal analyst: Ari Melber

Best print/Internet legal analyst: Dahlia Lithwick

Best unabashedly infuriated Black: Joy Reid

Best Newspaper: STILL....The New York Times (Now they've hooked me with Wordle, too!)

Best candidate for worm food when he passes away: Rupert Murdoch

Most likely to cause an unexpected drop in a cemetary worm population due to mass poisoning: Rupert Murdoch.

Best baldfaced liar: Tucker Carlson

Best researched commentator: Rachel Maddow

Best ranter: Steve Schmidt. Always good for a quotable quote.

Best print periodical: The Atlantic, hands down! A great magazine in all respects.

Whatever became of Megyn Kelly? (Best over-inflated newsie to walk the plank and actually wind up in the same shark tank with Bill O'Reilly and Roger Ailes.)

Expand full comment

Curious that I’ve not read mention of Amy Goodman and Democracy Now! The in depth coverage of stories MSM skims by reminds me of the days of Cronkite.

Expand full comment