92 Comments

I'm retired so I have more time than money....

Am writing postcards like crazy and spending more money than I EVER have given in donations everywhere.(lots of tuna casseroles ahead)

And I am praying. CONSTANTLY. No kidding. Asking for truth and decency to overcome this EVIL atmosphere.

Expand full comment

Glad you’re here in Ohio. Here are 3 reasons why I think Tim has a good shot at winning- 1) large number of newly registered women, second nationally to Kansas, 2) the union voters who went for Trump are rallying behind Tim as one of their own, and 3) Republicans who agree that Vance is a fraud, such as former GOP Congressman David Hobson who recently endorsed Ryan. Plus Vance has really pissed off the Ukrainian community in places like Parma by telling Steve Bannon earlier this year that he didn’t care what happens to Ukraine and more recently called for ending US support. I noticed that Sarah Longwell of the Bulwark recently dubbed OH as a sleeper race that could well flip. Let’s make it happen!

Expand full comment

In addition to small donations, I have been canvassing every day about 6 hours a day. I live in a conservative area but was making some headway. Now, I can see the brutal TV ads are affecting voters' responses. I am also handing out blue ballots at polling places. Thanks, Steve, for supporting Tim Ryan! There is still time and so much we can do.

Expand full comment

Glad to see you out with him ! I just mailed off 240 Vote Forward GOTV letters to Ohio and Texas. I've probably done an equal number of postcards for several Dem candidates through a couple of grassroots organizations locally. I'm an election clerk on Nov 8! Let's goooo, all people of sane, good intention. As I've seen in multiple places from credible people, pay NO attention to the polls, turnout is EVERYTHING. We outnumber these people, let's prove it with out robust turnout !

Expand full comment

your voice is so important, you give us courage, sorely needed

Expand full comment

I'm disabled in such a way that I can't do much beyond voting (I did) and donate which I continue to do.

Expand full comment

Sent $$ several times to Tim from MA. Wish the DNC took this race seriously

Ohio is filled with good people who keep sending Sherrod Brown to DC I hope Tim joins him as the junior senator from Ohio. Good luck!

Expand full comment

VERBAL “BEATDOWNS” on friends and associates still mentally paralyzed by the BIG LIE and the false economic narrative being peddled c/o invertebrate Kevin McCarthy.

Expand full comment

Talk about GREAT AMERICANS!

That photo is the perfect image of patriotic bi-partisanship!

I've gone into debt supporting Dems across the country. Will give more now to Tim's campaign.

Why am I willing to go into debt?

Because I'm happy to pay it off later with my social security if we win. If not, it won't matter because the Cowboys for Trump already threatened to kill me... so... why not go into debt to defeat criminal monsters like them?

🙏🏽🇺🇸

Expand full comment

Wish I still lived in Ohio, so I could vote for Tim. Fighting for Cheri Beasley here in NC! Voted all Democratic this week.

Expand full comment

All my cards -600 and letters 200 are in the mail. Moving to texting for GOTV

Expand full comment

I am writing here with all my heart and soul. This is my ardent activism, FREE SPEECH. And I have supported Tim Ryan since he spoke with the force of a true legislator and an American talking common sense to all. Holy cow! From then on it has been history.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uaeUfgLXYbY

And for Ohioans means also for Americans. Read this:

https://timryan.house.gov/media/press-releases/its-time-us-stop-putting-party-over-country-congressman-tim-ryan-blasts-house

Vance? He is a disgrace to America and Americans. Tim Ryan said it best. During his last debate. A knockout! I hope Senator Chuck Schumer is looking this way. I truly do, for his admirable colleague House Speaker Nancy Pelosi.

Expand full comment
Nov 1, 2022Liked by Steve Schmidt

I Just mailed out 200 postcards and have given more in donations than in past elections.

I'm on Social Security, caregiver for my disabled husband and on a fixed budget but we must win this fight.

Expand full comment
Nov 1, 2022Liked by Steve Schmidt

Already mailed in my ballot in Texas. Vote Blue no matter who!

Expand full comment
Oct 31, 2022Liked by Steve Schmidt

I've been donating to Tim at least twice a month ever since you wrote that he could win and needed our support. I've been doing the same for Evan McMullin and many other Democrats running for House, Senate, governors, secretaries of state, offices plus organizations working to help elect them. All small dollar donations, but it adds up fast.

Expand full comment
Oct 31, 2022Liked by Steve Schmidt

Great photo! I met and briefed then-Rep Tim Ryan at US Embassy Paris in 2005. He came over with Rep Bill Shuster, R-PA, in 2005. My part of his agenda was US-France military relations, as well as the state of play in NATO. I was impressed just based on the fact that he traveled to France. At the time fully one-third of the members of Congress did not hold a US passport. (Not sure what it is now.) Tim Ryan was as decent, humble and genuine as can be. He wrote a nice note to my daughter, to do well in school! Although not from OH, I have donated to his campaign more than once. I have donated to numerous others - McMullen (UT), Franken (IA), Flowers (GA, opposing MJT). Went to the McMullen-Kinzinger talk here in UT. Joined Kinzinger's Country First movement. Blessings to all!

Expand full comment

Steve, we need you here in Arizona helping Katie Hobbs, Mark Kelly and Andrian Fontes. The races are all so close and we need power houses like you to help in the final days. The republican candidates are frightening - the worst of the worst. Please come and help!

Expand full comment

Make good trouble! 🕺💪

Expand full comment

Donating and voting ~ very exciting to see you campaigning for Tim Ryan!

Expand full comment

Sent Tim money from CT!

Expand full comment

Donating to Tim from Maine and phone banking and door knocking for the ME Democrats.

Expand full comment

PASSENGER: The United States of America

DESTINATION: Hell

TICKET: One-way

CONVEYANCE: Handbasket

The Republican Party has finally reduced itself to what you would scrape off your shoe if you inadvertently stepped in it. And they are obviously not done yet. They are an evil that just might take over the government of the United States starting with the mid-term elections just a week away. If Americans give away their democracy they will likely never get it back.

The American people, call them the Hens, are about to hand the Hen House over to the Wolf, who has fooled them, having donned a somewhat convincing sheep’s costume. This subterfuge is only possible because of ignorance, self-absorption, incredible short-sightedness and maybe even stupidity of people who will turn out Democrats in favour of Republicans because of the price of gas. Canadians, incidentally, pay more for gas with a great deal less whining about it. They will also be turning out their democracy and according to promises the Republicans cannot resist making, will also turn over their healthcare, their social security, their control over their own bodies and many aids the Democrats have just put in place including financial support of many kinds, (student loan relief, prescription drug cost relief, assistance with fuel costs, etc. etc. none of which has the support of even one Republican). A mother, with four children, explained on TV this morning that she cannot work because she cannot afford the child care. She like many women here and there are dealing with the result of a cute waitress having smiled at their husbands. So the Republicans are expected to do a better job with the economy and they surely will, but only for their benefactors, millionaires and billionaires. We’ll give Trump a pass due to Covid, even though he left a mess, but look how Bush, the last Republican, left the economy…in ruins.

Republicans will also get a handle finally on crime, they tell us. If that isn’t stand up comedy! What is the common denominator of the crime equation? Guns. Where do they come from? Republicans! The states with the worst crime rates in the U.S. are RED! The worst city for crime in the country’s largest state is Bakersfield, CA. Who represents Bakersfield CA in Congress? Kevin McCarthy, the would-be Speaker if the Republicans, as expected, take the House. Who have voted AGAINST more funds for police? Republicans.

It is a good thing Herschel Walker has got all his abortions out of the way before it becomes a criminal offense nation-wide. This lying incompetent is what the Republicans will put forward in an incredibly cynical effort to regain the Senate and he could actually win. What an insult to the Senate! President Obama captured the ridiculousness of this with a hypothetical observation. A group of people in an airport spot Herschel and exclaim, “There’s Herschel Walker, football hero, Heisman trophy winner, helluva guy! Let’s have HIM fly the plane!”

Not to mention all the other election deniers running for office in order to take charge of the voting process to make it work for them. It is very much the Republican way to have politicians choose their voters rather than the other way around. This will be helped by having armed vigilantes, in tactical gear, at dropbox locations to record voters and their license plates for future intimidation. This includes encouraging violence at polling places and on other politicians, as represented by the attack on Nancy Pelosi’s husband when it was really intended for her. Assassination is in the air. Count on it. There are many more tragedies ahead. What kind of country has this become?

What is certain is that a Republican administration will do nothing to help the American people. They will spend all their time and energy on punishing perceived offenders, consolidating their power, deconstructing democracy and undercutting the influence of people of any colour but white. This will include impeaching a list of public servants topped by President Biden and Attorney General Garland and undoing any laws passed by Democrats intended to help the lower and middle classes.

The clues have been there for a long time but the emergence of Donald Trump as catalyst has sent it all over the edge. It is quite possible that the poison Trump has inserted into American life will never go away. Well, they asked for it. Unfortunately, it appears that what Americans, driven by a vicious and determined minority, are about to find is that what they want is also what they deserve. Incidentally, the price of gas will eventually go down but the

choices it inspired may never abate.

Expand full comment

Getting my 22 and 27 year old daughters to vote. 1 down 1 to go. 1 lives in NC the other in Florida. NC already voted.

Expand full comment

Tim Ryan is an outstanding candidate. I hope the people of Ohio vote him in.

Expand full comment

I have been donating to Tim’s campaign regularly from Oregon. Not large amounts but hope it’s helping

Expand full comment

Thanks, Steve! My band is finishing up a video and cover of an anthem from the 1970’s. I’ll post here when we’re done.

Here’s our 2020 GOTV release:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sXzrEjoGgYw

Expand full comment

I donated to Tim's campaign immediately after one of your messages. You are an effective voice in a race which should not be that tight. Ohio, southern Ohio, is part of the culture I grew up in, the coalfields of the Allegeny Plateau. So, I understand.

Expand full comment

I'm donating as much as I can afford to candidates in close races, and amplifying their messages on social media.

Expand full comment

I sent him a lot of money (for me) to him in the 2016 primary and sent him some more for his senate run, but you got me. I'll send him some more today.

Expand full comment

Donated to Tim several times along with the candidates who need my help in my home state of WI.

Expand full comment

Fabulous-so glad you are there! I am doing GOTV door knocking shifts today and next Sunday in the new CD in Colorado.

Expand full comment

Thank you for walking the talk, Steve! If only more republicans and former republicans of good conscience would do the same.

Expand full comment

At our staff Halloween/Get out the Vote party on Friday, had a young Latina elected official (local board of education) talk to our 35 young people about the importance of local elections, how easy it is to vote, and where to find information in order to make an informed decision. I shared that the DNC had brought 8 top tiktok influencers to DC to educate them on civics, and that sometimes a difference of 5000 votes is all that separates the winner from the loser. I also stressed the importance of jury duty.

Expand full comment

Canvassing, phone banking, drive around my area today putting up signs for SusannWild, John Fetterman and Josh Shapiro for PA! In a very purple area here and my feeling is that it’s going to be too close for comfort so working on all dems and down ballot democrats. Hopefully it will be enough to save our democracy and keep maga mania candidates out of office. Oh and donating donating and more donations!

Expand full comment

Hope and pray that Tim Ryan pulls this off! GO TIM!

Expand full comment

How can I thank you?! My home state and tho gone for years, it’s still critical to me. You’re a mensch as is Tim! On to victory!!

Expand full comment

Common sense. See. When words don't reach you, then open your eyes.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?app=desktop&v=EHzCikhJ8oU

Expand full comment

I've been writing postcards, letters and phone banking. I've given donations to various candidates when I can and I'm a pollpollworkerworker for the Nov. 8 primaries.

Expand full comment

So happy you are helping him

Expand full comment

What’s up with NO noise for Marcus Flowers running against MTG?

Expand full comment

Keep sending money to Tim Ryan and calling everyone I know in Ohio to vote for him.

Expand full comment

Sent Tim money last week from California

Expand full comment

So glad to have you helping Tim. THANKS!

Expand full comment

I so admire you Schmidt.

Expand full comment

I voted early yesterday for All democrats running. But in twice gerrymandered Indiana it is frustrating. However nothing will stop me from voting. I have also donated as much as I can afford. Now I am praying.

Expand full comment

Glad you're hanging out w/ Ryan. Wisconsin is my home so I am giving my politics money to Tony Evers, Mandela Barnes, Josh Kaul, Deb Andraca, and Aaron Richardson. Other work is with my area group of activists, Grassroots North Shore, distributing lit on how, where, and when to vote while talking to students at area colleges and publilc libraries. We made big, bright signs to attract attention on the busiest intersesctions (with speed limits below 35 mph). We go where the people go, markets, shopping centers, etc and wave the signs and talk to people. (We handed out all our extra Halloween candy too.) We are canvassing using lit that we wrote/designed and printed (Dems lit sucks!), organizing postcard writers, printing postcards, collecting stamp donations and then making follow-up phonecalls to the recipients to ask if they have plans to vote and to answer any questions they may have. We organized a voting kick off rally with all our candidates and (thank the WI weather gods) tons of people joined us. We coordinate with many other volunteers' groups who all bring value to this fight. This year, national groups are doing phenomenal work providing, free of charge and free of copyright limits, artwork, information, messaging, ads, GIFs, research and then some to activist organizations and activists. It's not unlike The Lincoln Project in purpose. Their passion and generosity with their bountiful talents gives me hope. We need hope. I lived through Scott Walker, Scott Fitzgerald, Robin Vos, and too many promoters of hell in WI. My congressman is Glenn Grothman and we have no hope of removing him without changing our maps. Not happening unless we change the WI Supreme Court. It's a long, toxic saga. We have Ron Johnson. Our bright spot is Tammy Baldwin. Alas, Milwaukee is home to the Bradley Foundation. Early last year, the school district where all my children attended school from K through 12, faced recalls of every board member eligible to be recalled. We had tremendous community support to defeat them, but they haven't gone away. They are promoting another tax-supported school complete with all the sick buzzwords and beliefs of the far right lunacy; CRT, trans hate, book bans, own the libs, hateful Christian-right centered... We must vote and I challenge anyone to do too much. Thank you Steve, commenters, and writers, I love what you do. Stay strong, we can do this.

Expand full comment

Steve Schmidt …your words are honest

And your ACTIONS are Honorable..,

So Proud of you working to help your

Friend TIM RYAN win And Save Democracy

Expand full comment
founding
Oct 31, 2022·edited Oct 31, 2022

Voted early. Never been so happy to tick off all Democrats down ballot in all my life in a very heavy democrat district but there is still important emerging threat. I usually work with my union but I have to see about voters’ turn out. I can’t stand east coast elitism. But I am afraid MAGA is going to kill this country otherwise.

Expand full comment

The complete failure of the Democratic Party leadership to support Tim Ryan's strong campaign is political malpractice, plain and simple. This is/was a winnable Senate seat, given the quality (or more appropriately, the lack thereof) of the opposition, and yet party leadership has ignored it.

In a week or so, we will read how despite their increasingly overt authoritarianism, the Republicans won what is looking like a substantial majority in the House, and I fear that we will also read how they have narrowly retaken the Senate as well. This speaks as much about how the Democrats have run a "single issue" election campaign (abortion), as it does about their foolish ignoring the successes they have achieved (the infrastructure bill, the gun legislation, the Inflation Reduction Act) and the overt threat to democracy in this country. This is NOT to say that the Dobbs decision is unimportant--it is just that as the polls show, it unfortunately does not seem to be near the top of the minds of most voters.

Expand full comment

Great! This is wonderful!

Expand full comment