162 Comments

I am a former Republican and now a compassionate independent. In 2020, I volunteered at my county Democratic HQ and am doing so again.

Expand full comment

I will exhort my students (57 go them, all over the age of 18) to vote. I am already discussing with my Freshmen students (17 of them) that our country is under threat.

Expand full comment
founding

I donate (small amounts) monthly to D candidates with good chances of winning; write postcards to remind people to vote; have knocked on doors for local candidates and fundraised for them; I call my Congressman and Senators periodically to remind them of what they should be supporting and opposing. Voting rights and reform of the Electoral Count Act have been high on my priority list. I often wish I had Peter Thiel’s money, because I’d make better use of it!

Expand full comment

I'm a Democratic county chair and I volunteer 50+ hours/week for my party and democracy. Right now I'm focusing on canvassing for 2 state house candidates & a congressional district candidate, as well as training and encouraging others to do the same. We're in the persuasion phase right now because our HDs and CD have Rep advantages after redistricting so I'm out there talking to moderate Reps to persuade them to vote for our Democratic candidates. This is in a deep red, rural county in Colorado. Soon I'll be setting up phone banks to GOTV.

Expand full comment

I helped co-found Blue Ohio (www.blueohio.org) – a grassroots group that supports Democratic state legislative nominees running in even the reddest parts of the state. We ensure extremists have to answer for their toxic votes and don't go unchallenged. (Plus our data shows increased turnout and vote share when there are supported downballot Dems running). We need to start fighting everywhere, and that's how we're doing it. We're expanding to more states in 2023.

Expand full comment

I am going to be a poll worker in Palm Beach County.

Expand full comment
Sep 18, 2022·edited Sep 18, 2022

Oh my. Let's see:

Assistant Chief poll judge in Arlington County VA.

Writing post cards for Field Team 6. Both register to vote and GOTV. Easy, fast and can be done at your speed. Post cards for Building Bridges to remind registered out of state voters to request ballots.

Writing letters for Swing Left

Working with League of Women Voters to register new citizens. They swear their oath, and you hand them a voter registration form. Collect the form and hand it to the county.

Working with League of Women Voters to register High School students! This is by far the most fun. Discuss their civic responsibility to vote, and what happens when they do not vote.

Expand full comment

I am running for the Florida House of Representatives, District 58 which is in Pinellas County. www.realsolutions4florida.com. My reason for running is, in part, to end the culture war arguments.

Expand full comment

We definitely need to do a better job of educating young people. Most don't even know who their Senators or Reps are. They watch social media but don't get much hard news.

Expand full comment

I write, I lead our local Habitat for Humanity operation, I agitate and advocate. I look for good trouble.

Expand full comment
Sep 18, 2022·edited Sep 18, 2022

I'm writing letters on why I vote and letting folks know in VA how important this election is. WE have a newly baptized Trumpkin in our Governor's Mansion and he has wasted no time undoing all the great things done in the last 10 years. If people had bothered to find out his whole message was bullshit then maybe we wouldn't be moving backwards. I lived in Texas for 30 years and I'm so happy to be out of that sewage factory. Lies built upon lies and it gets heavy to hear and carry. Steve is right, our nation, our freedoms, our democracy are being dismantled one election, one judge, one MAGAt at a time....

Expand full comment

I’m donating on a reoccurring basis to about 10 candidates.

Expand full comment

I volunteer with a group of data scientists at https://www.bluebonnetdata.org/ to help Dem campaigns utilize data/models for effective and efficient campaign decisions and operations.

Expand full comment

I donate as much as I can whenever I can. And I don't stay silent.

Expand full comment

I write postcards for a few organizations that are working to get people to vote and/or support candidates. I don't mind paying foe the postcards and postage. It's the least I can do!

Expand full comment

I donate to winnable campaigns. Phone bank on election day. Help people register to vote.

Expand full comment

I'm $$ supporting a couple of swing states - primarily PA, AZ. Both have MAGA repubs for governor this cycle. Both Mastriano, and Lake scare me and need to be defeated. Of course, there's also FL with DeSantsis. I hope most Floridians can see how evil he really is and vote him out of office.

I did win over a couple of my retired repub colleagues during the lockdown. We have lunch weekly and slowly they started to see the light, and could see how malicious and manipulative Trump was becoming and actively demonstrating. They voted for him in 2016, but Biden in 2020. It was the insurrection that helped to push them over the edge. They haven't switched their party affiliation - yet. 2 down 73 million to go.

Expand full comment

I give $ to 15 candidates every month, give money to 1 PAC (VoteVets) I do phone banking with Vote Vets and now my husband is phoning too

Expand full comment
Sep 18, 2022·edited Sep 18, 2022

I recommend becoming a Poll Worker. Here’s a link to more info: https://www.eac.gov/help-america-vote

Expand full comment

If you have a policy expertise that might be useful to candidate, you might each out to the candidates policy director and offer to draft comments for them. This is particularly useful if there is a planned debate...both possible questions and possible answers.

Expand full comment

Wow! First, Thank you to everyone for doing your part. These comments were inspiring and hopeful. I donate money to Arizona democratic candidates, all of them as I live in AZ, and the two senators in GA. I could do more, and maybe I should. Thanks for the ideas.

Expand full comment

Keep ActBlue on Speed dial (if you remember what that is) lol

Expand full comment

Write letters to local papers; call in to talk radio; attend events and challenge their lies; Donate-Volunteer-Vote!!!

Expand full comment

Donate small amounts to candidates

All over the USA and writing letters and

Learning from the community of all of

THE WARNING…your guidance inspires

Your knowledge helps me …learning

Taking all the actions I’m capable to do

Thanks for the question Steve! Marsha

Expand full comment

I worry that texting banks are more irritating to voters than helpful. (They certainly irritate me!) What do you think about that, Steve?

Expand full comment
Sep 18, 2022·edited Sep 18, 2022

I run a nonprofit with staff of 55, majority under age of 32, and many of them 1st generation. We created a group called "Make A Change", and I spoke about both the privilege and responsibilities of being a citizen to both voting and doing jury duty. In looking for a project, the team landed on Get Out the Vote Early, with the emphasis on educating family and friends about registering to vote, knowing where to get information about issues, and then voting. One of our Board members, who is an elected school board member, is having everyone gather their mail, and will walk through how to interpret the campaign materials. We also sent out the QR code on Friday to check to see if you are already registered, and the link to the Voter Registrars office. Hoping to instill a lifetime habit. They are really fired up!

Expand full comment

I joined The Union (www.jointheunion.us) and volunteer with their Facebook team to amplify winnable campaigns and state actions such as phonebanking, canvassing, etc. It is a great group of people and my tasks only take a few minutes each day. Consider joining!

Early this year I created a small private FB group in order to share information and learn with like minded people who can then share with others in their circles. It helped us to have someone to talk to in our deep red area and it helped us grow in confidence about discussing issues, and now I reach out to more people and encourage them to learn and share.

Education is my shtick, so I read/listen to all the right people (Steve!) daily on social media. As a former R / Tea Party member, sharing my story with current maga / Rs is something I plan to pursue more vigorously. I am a narcissistic abuse survivor in both my personal and political life and hope to use that experience to help others. Go team! 🇺🇸

Expand full comment

I run a community of women in tech and have organized a virtual letter writing event with swingleft.org. I'll be writing about why it's important for all of us to vote. As we all know, if voting didn't matter, MAGA wouldn't working so hard to make difficult for people to do it.

Expand full comment

I moved to FL 1.5yrs ago after retiring as a nurse after 37yrs. Former IL President of Illinois Nurses Association, VP of IL AFL-CIO. I’m now the Treasurer for my FL Pasco County Democratic Party, statewide Democratic Labor Caucus, and Local Democratic Labor Caucus. I’ve been organizing rallies, fundraising, postcard, phone banking and soon texting campaigns. We are working hard to elect Crist for Gov, Demings for Sen, and several local candidates to office. It’ll be a fierce battle we plan to win. We NEED more volunteers!

Expand full comment

Write 100s of postcards and donate money for others to write/get stamps. Have my mail-in ballot in hand. Plan to complete it ASAP and get it recorded.

Expand full comment

I started a PAC in 2021

Expand full comment

I do phone-banking with the local Democratic Party. It's easy! The local party provides the phone numbers and a script.

Expand full comment

Voting machine operator since 2020. We make small donations to candidates around the country.

We protest in the streets for causes that matter. We maintain friendships both red and blue as difficult as it is. We look to your forum for other suggestions.

Expand full comment

I volunteered to become a Precinct Captain for my local legislative district here in Arizona. PC’s get literature to distribute for your immediate neighborhood to Democratic and Dem leaning voters. (few blocks surrounding your house). I also donate and have had house parties to raise money for candidates.

Expand full comment

I do donate occasionally but am on pretty tight budget. I have volunteered and gone door to door. This year I'm also training to be a poll worker in November.

Expand full comment

We donate to MANY candidates, I do postcards and Vote Forward letters, I am a fill time caregiver so can't get out...I am also a poll worker as I try to get an aide in that day....

Expand full comment

Donating, post card writing, voter registration and phone calls and emails to senators and representatives! Facebook posts, and tweets, although not sure how effective they are.

Expand full comment

Yes I believe in donating to the cause of electing quality candidates for office. Our system is broken when one of the 2 major political parties no longer believes in the peaceful transition of power. Unfortunately, my funds are limited because I am retired. However, I guess I could always do more. If anyone has suggestions I am interested in hearing them.

Expand full comment

I am a pollbook judge for my county

I am Democratic party precinct chair for my district

I’ve sent postcard for candidates outside my district

I will be canvassing in my district for D candidates

I have donated to D campaigns around the country

I read The Warning and Heather Cox Richardson every day

Expand full comment
founding

I am donating to Fetterman and Tim Ryan monthly. Will vote, of course and ensure my friends are. I'm caring for my elderly parents and working, so volunteering in the near term is difficult. But I'm quitting my job soon..

Expand full comment

Last year I became a poll worker. Just finished my training for this year’s general election & received my 2nd certification. I donate to various candidates including ones outside my state. (Beto, Ryan, Abrams, Warnock) I also volunteered for common cause of GA.

Expand full comment

Besides ALWAYS voting, I volunteer my time making phone calls, door to door with ballot info all thru my local Democratic Party to Dems in my community. I try to be an intelligent and calm bully pulpit

when appropriate to moderates on the right.

Expand full comment

I donate and have Beto and Mike Collier signs in my yard. I’m a VDR for my county, work at the polls, and I canvass for the Dems.

Expand full comment

Get involved with and donate to The States Project and with Sister District. The States Project has giving circles. They focus on local and state elections and they identify candidates who are electable.

Another fantastic organization I am involved with is Red Wine and Blue. They focus on elections, but also on making sure school boards are not taken over by extremists and on stopping book bans in schools and libraries.

Of course, I also write letters and postcards.

Expand full comment

P.S. Also LWV Member, (League of Women Voters).

Expand full comment

I have donated to in-state and out of state Democratic candidates; try daily to stay current on Democratic efforts to rise up over the threats of the extremist movement and encourage others to do likewise; unable to volunteer as my tolerance for fascist dribble by the brain washed is way, way down......

Expand full comment

OOPs, I forgot: I live in FL and do not give anything to any candidate here, though I may support Val Demmings this month by by Marco

Expand full comment

Send money to candidates throughout the country; canvass, voter reg, phone bank, and postcards in national races; educate voters on state and local races (really important) in my state.

Expand full comment

I'm an election clerk every election, I've been doing postcards to voters with a couple of different organizations (with CivicsCenter, and the local Moms Demand group). I'm also doing letters to voters with Vote Forward. If you don't already subscribe to Jessica Craven's newsletter, do it ! She's a fabulous resource, with scripts and email addresses etc etc etc that make making a difference very easy for you ! Her newsletter is Chop Wood, Carry Water. I also say as often as anybody will listen, within my wider circle, that every sane person needs to get out and vote, every election, up and down the ballot.

Many hands make light work. We can all make a difference.... every one of us, doing something positive, adds up to a lot of good. Let's do it, and keep doing it !!

Expand full comment

Postcarding, letter writing. My pod is up to about +2K postcards and >22K letters!

We are doing our part. Some writing sessions are social allowing for animated conversations.

I am also signed up as a poll worker.

Expand full comment