193 Comments

I am stealing a meme from.a FB post - it would say "The biggest danger for a kid at a drag queen story time is that some Conservative brings a gun."

Expand full comment

My sign:

Keep our kids free from Fascism. And on the flip side:

Teach them kindness

Expand full comment

“Hate is such a drag” sums it up perfectly. Thank you for sharing this information with us.

Expand full comment

Isn’t it funny how them protesting and shouting is more scarey for the kids then being read to?

Expand full comment

I like ‘Hate is Such a Drag’.

Expand full comment

Mine would say,: If you don’t vote, someone else will (and then you’ll be sorry). 

Expand full comment

It is these ignorant people who are hurting those children. My sign would say Stop Teaching Hate. There is no reason to hate, especially for stupid reasons that seem to be ingrained in them.

Expand full comment

Hate is such a drag, indeed. Therefore, I can't hate the haters. It's not worth my time, and it won't let their hate poison my soul. They have been socialized to hate. I don't see much that will change their minds. My sign would say "Live and let live."

Expand full comment

Written by Nick Lowe and by complements of Elvis Costello & The Attractions..My sign says:

"What's so funny about Peace, Love and Understanding?

Expand full comment

Kids Assulted by Story Hour Drag Queens = 0

Kids Assulted by Pastors = Thousands*

* Probably an undercount

Expand full comment

Sign: Cheap flights to Orban's Hungary from $194 (one way).

Expand full comment

Any Jewish man during Jesus's time, still unmarried at the age of 32, was probably gay...

Expand full comment

I thought of the one I have in my kitchen. "Dear Lord, Save me from your followers."

Expand full comment

“Children are more likely to be sexually abused by a Priest / Evangelical Preacher than a Drag Queen.

Do you know where YOUR kids are?”

Expand full comment

Ban hatred, not books.

Expand full comment

RODGER’s & HAMMERSTEIN

“You’ve Got To Be Carefully Taught!” South Pacific.

Expand full comment

Dear Steve

I am so very grateful all you good work.

You have helped me tremendously comprehend the awfulness of some very bad Republicans.

John Payne

Boston

Expand full comment
founding

“Hate divides US.

Love brings US together.

Unite the U.S.”

🇺🇸💙🪢❤️🇺🇸

Expand full comment

Great sign . For the life of me I can’t figure out why the Qanon nuts think making other people feel badly is Christian or American ( barely these days ) . As a “ good Christian “ aren’t you supposed to make all peoples feel welcome ? These protestors really irk me (

Expand full comment

Children can teach adults tolerance. or my personal favorite, what would Jesus do, teach hate or reading to the children

Expand full comment

"Equality, Justice, and Freedom for All."

Expand full comment

I love Hate is such a Drag - it's perfect for this situation. My sign would be something like: It's simple. You live your life and I'll live mine.

Expand full comment

Drag doesn't offend or scare me. Personally, I have never understood clowns.

Expand full comment
founding

Hate that Trump and Putin relish leads to here. This is the scene of Kremlin criminal gangs’ violent demise last night. https://youtu.be/WkgzYe7N4pI According to Operator Starsky, Russia was not merely intending to annex Ukraine. They intend to wipe out Ukraine from the face of the earth for their hatred of Ukrainians. https://youtu.be/ByXuSCv0mOw Hatred kills. It must be stopped.

Expand full comment

There are a lot of "prurient interests." Some people are into bestiality. Does that mean a someone dressed as round-eared mouse who hugs kids is "grooming?"

Expand full comment

Teach your children well

Expand full comment

I better not write what I think!!

Expand full comment

Mind your own LGBTQ’s .

Expand full comment

Even the dog pictured seems depressed.

I was thinking today just how humorless the GOP is. Zero joy.

Expand full comment

Hate is taught! What are you teaching your kids??

Expand full comment

What the teachers in school said almost everyday, MYOB (Mind Your Own Business.)

Expand full comment

Yes, Hate is a drag... not the Queens reading to the kids!

Expand full comment

Hate is the christian taliban

Expand full comment

"Get a life, this one is mine"

Expand full comment

Children wear Devil costumes at Halloween but it doesn’t mean they are satanist.

Expand full comment

Why are drag queens reading to young children? Is this a Russian intelligence operation? Seriously. The goal is to get Americans fighting against each other. Gin up the right and the left. Drag shows, as far as I know, are meant to be fun entertainment for adults in the evening. Story hour for young kids is to promote reading. Why should the person reading the book be the show? Shouldn't the focus be on the book and the story, and also the kids? I doubt the idea of drag queen story hours emerged organically on American soil, but maybe I'm wrong. That's my best guess.

Expand full comment

"Sashay away"

Expand full comment
Feb 11, 2023·edited Feb 11, 2023

54>34

I think our Q Annon adherents practice numerology so they should be able to translate love>hate

Expand full comment

"Go back to where you came from."

Expand full comment

Love this. Clever and meaningful.

Expand full comment

Intimidate or imitate?

I don’t know what the drag Queen looked like but I imagine most of the kids would just think it was a nice lady reading to them if the protesters would just take a seat. Making mountains out of molehills….

Expand full comment

Repression leads to Depression

Haha

These misguided protestors are interjecting their brand of indoctrination into bias and bigotry....

Expand full comment

My sign would be…… Chai yen yen…. I’d write it in Thai so people would ask it ment so I could address them personally. It means cool your heart…. It’s said a hot heart clouds understanding.

Expand full comment

Hate and intolerance is not welcome here!!

Expand full comment

Jesus never hated anyone.

Expand full comment

Lisa Beardsley you are so generous and supportive and I appreciate your writing

and how knowledgeable you are you

Blessed my day:)ove reading your comments 🌹Marsha

Expand full comment
Feb 11, 2023·edited Feb 11, 2023

I might have a sign that says "I Forgive You", simply because a.) it is true and b.) it is bound to confuse people who believe any kind of gender discussion is proof of deviance.

Expand full comment

Missouri House lawmakers have voted against banning children from openly carrying firearms on public land without adult supervision. Democratic Rep. Donna Baringer said police in her district asked for the change to stop “14-year-olds walking down the middle of the street in the city of St. Louis carrying AR-15s.” Associated Press Feb. 8, 2023, at 7:18 p.m I apologize to Steve for including this on Steve's comments about "Hate is such a drag" I am just too shocked not to share this item.

Expand full comment

These whack a doodle’s have already lost this debate. They just don’t know it.

Expand full comment

I like “hate is such a drag”, but my biggest question is always “why do you care?”

Expand full comment